Winners announced at the BD Architect of the Year Awards

More than 800 of the architectural community packed the ExCel in east London on 9th March for BD’s Architect of the Year Awards 2016, hosted by writer and broadcaster Stephen Fry. During the awards ceremony Stephen Fry praised architects for their part in shaping a better world and said theirs was a glorious calling.

The judges praised the quality of the entries and awarded highly commended honours as well as winners in a number of categories.  The awards were the culmination of Ecobuild’s architecture day which included talks from dRMM’s Sadie Morgan, AHMM’s Simon Allford and architectural broadcaster Jonathan Meades.

The prestigious Schueco Gold Award, voted for by the judges along with an online vote and a live vote on the evening at the awards, was presented to Cottrell & Vermeulen, who also took away the Education Architect of the Year award on the strength of a string of exceptional projects including Brentwood School in Essex and Notre Dame High School in Southwark.

The Young Architect of the Year Award was won by Feilden Fowles, following in the footsteps of a string of YAYA winners who have gone on to flourish, including Lynch Architects and Arquitecturia who are working on the Olympicopolis project with Allies & Morrison and O’Donnell & Tuomey.

BD editor Thomas Lane said:

“The judges felt Cottrell & Vermeulen represented a quiet and considered style of architecture which is very important in schools and public buildings. They have been doing this for many years. This is exactly the sort of architect who needs to be celebrated.”

There were several categories that were fiercely contested, he said, reflecting the buoyancy of the housing, education and refurbishment sectors in particular. He added:

“We had the highest number of entries for some years this year which reflects the health of the profession.”

Winners of the celebrated awards were:

  • The Schueco Gold Award:  Cottrell & Vermeulen
  • Young Architect of the Year Award (YAYA): Feilden Fowles
  • Refurbishment Architect of the Year:  Takero Shimazaki
  • Education Architect of the Year:  Cottrell & Vermeulen; Highly commended: AHMM
  • Individual House Architect of the Year:  Jamie Fobert Architects
  • Office Architect of the Year:  Bennetts Associates; Highly commended: Piercy & Co
  • Infrastructure Architect of the Year:  Hawkins\Brown
  • Sustainability Architect of the Year:  Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios
  • Sport & Leisure Architect of the Year:  Panter Hudspith
  • Housing Architect of the Year:  Levitt Bernstein
  • Masterplanning Architect of the Year: JTP; Highly commended: DSDHA
  • Public Building Architect of the Year:  Reiach and Hall
  • Small Project Architect of the Year: Stonewood Design
  • Interior Architect of the Year:  Haptic Architects

ref: 15129