Six Yorkshire buildings win RIBA Architecture Awards

Six outstanding new Yorkshire buildings won RIBA Yorkshire Awards from the Royal Institute of British Architects at a prestigious awards ceremony held last night (Thursday 21 April 2016), in recognition of their architectural excellence.

The winning buildings are:

Brynmor Jones Library, University of Hull by Sheppard Robson
Contemporary Lean-To, Harrogate by Doma Architects
Laidlaw Library, University of Leeds by ADP LLP
New House, Brigsley by Hodson Architects
Stanbrook Abbey, North York Moors National Park by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios
York Art Gallery, York by Ushida Findlay and Simpson & Brown Architects
A further six Special Category Awards were presented to:

York Art Gallery, Ushida Findlay and Simpson & Brown Architects – RIBA Yorkshire Conservation Award
Brynmor Jones Library, Sheppard Robson – RIBA Yorkshire Conservation Award
Brynmor Jones Library, Sheppard Robson – RIBA Yorkshire Sustainability Award sponsored by Sika
Contemporary Lean-to, Doma Architects – RIBA Yorkshire Small Project Award
Dr Richard Heseltine, Director of Library and Learning Innovation and University Librarian, University of Hull for The Brynmor Jones Library – RIBA Yorkshire Client of the Year
Tom Van Hoffelen, Simpson & Brown Architects for York Art Gallery – RIBA Yorkshire Project Architect of the Year sponsored by Tarmac
Stanbrook Abbey, Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios – RIBA Yorkshire Building of the Year sponsored by Marley Eternit

Caroline Buckingham of HLM Architects, Jury Chair said:

“In the 2016 RIBA Yorkshire Award winning buildings, we witnessed total dedication from the architects, enhanced and supported by the clients. This was borne out in the quality of the projects produced and the exquisite attention to detail shown. The winning projects ranged from a little gem whose understated title completely unlocked a clever and enlightening remodelling of a Victorian villa, to a new Abbey beautifully and lovingly executed over a number of years and sitting majestically in the Yorkshire countryside. Many of the projects included historic elements which were seamlessly brought together in a sensitive but simple way, expertly executed with delightful detailing.”

RIBA Yorkshire winners will also be considered for a highly-coveted RIBA National Award in recognition of their architectural excellence, which will be announced on 23 June. The shortlist for the RIBA Stirling Prize for the best building of the year will be drawn from the RIBA National Award-winning buildings later in the year.