Sir David Adjaye to chair 2018 RIBA Stirling Prize Jury

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has today (7 September 2018) announced the jury for the 2018 RIBA Stirling Prize, the prestigious annual award for the UK’s best new building.

The world-renowned architect Sir David Adjaye OBE will chair the jury comprising RIBA President, Ben Derbyshire; 2017 RIBA Stirling Prize winner, Alex de Rijke; former Artistic Director of the Southbank Centre and Woman of the World (WOW) Festival founder, Jude Kelly CBE; Almacantar Property Director, Kathrin Hersel. ArchitectSimon Sturgis has been appointed sustainability advisor to the panel.

Sir David Adjaye OBE said:

“This year’s shortlist demonstrates sensitive and engaged thinking across a wide range of projects – from cemeteries to nurseries and from galleries to workspaces. It is a privilege to judge for Britain’s highest prize for excellence in architecture and to celebrate the outstanding work of my peers.”

The RIBA Stirling Prize jury will visit the six shortlisted buildings which comprise:

  • Bloomberg, London by Foster + Partners
  • Bushey Cemetery, Hertfordshire by Waugh Thistleton Architects
  • Chadwick Hall, University of Roehampton, London by Henley Halebrown
  • New Tate St Ives, Cornwall by Jamie Fobert Architects with Evans & Shalev
  • Storey’s Field Centre and Eddington Nursery, Cambridge by MUMA
  • The Sultan Nazrin Shah Centre, Worcester College, Oxford by Niall McLaughlin Architects

The winner of the 2018 RIBA Stirling Prize will be announced on Wednesday 10 October 2018 at the Roundhouse in London.

For more information on the RIBA Stirling Prize, visit