Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) announces 9 new International Fellowships

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) announced the 2016 RIBA International Fellowships which will be awarded to nine non-UK architects, of whom two are in partnership.

The RIBA’s 2015 International Fellowships are:

  • Kees Christiaanse – KCAP, Netherlands
  • Mario Cucinella – MC Architects, Italy
  • Bjarke Ingels – BIG, Denmark
  • Rick Joy – Rick Joy Architects, USA
  • Brian MacKay-Lyons – MacKay-Lyons Sweetapple Architects, Canada
  • Peter Märkli – Studio Märkli, Switzerland
  • Peter Stutchbury – Peter Stutchbury Architecture, Australia
  • José Antonio Martínez Lapeña & Elias Torres – Spain

The lifetime honour allows individual recipients to use the initials Int FRIBA after their name.

The 2016 RIBA International Fellowships will be presented at a special event at the RIBA, 66 Portland Place, London, W1 on 1 February 2016.