Roofing Awards 2014 – NFRC calling all architects to enter

Following the launch of its ‘Think roofs – think NFRC’ campaign to the architectural and specification sectors, the National Federation of Roofing Contractors – the UK’s largest roofing trade association (NFRC) – continues its crusade and is calling on architects to enter the prestigious Roofing Awards 2014.

The Roofing Awards are the highlight of the roofing industry calendar and now in their ninth consecutive year, they recognise and reward outstanding standards of workmanship and technical excellence across the roofing industry. For architects, the awards provide a wonderful opportunity to showcase their design skills and expertise, as well as demonstrating support for roofing contractors.

Support for the Awards over the past years has been overwhelming and with the prestige and recognition that winning can bring, the number of architects entering has increased steadily year on year. Architects also benefit from added endorsement, as the judging comprises a panel of independent professionals from across the construction industry and not simply from the architectural community.

Ray Horwood CBE, Chief Executive of NFRC comments:

“Architects play a pivotal role in the design and specification of roofs and roofing materials and in conjunction with the roofing contractor, they help set the standard for roofing excellence. It is fitting for them to be part of our annual event.

“Regardless of the shape, size, budget or location of the project, we welcome the participation of architects and encourage them to submit as many entries as they like. Winning a trophy in these prestigious Awards would be an enviable achievement for any practice.”

The judging criteria for the Awards are extremely specific and detailed. These include:

  • Degree of difficulty of the roofing project
  • Aesthetics
  • Workmanship
  • Environmental qualities
  • Contribution to the built environment
  • Supply chain best practice
  • Relationship with the main contractor
  • Customer satisfaction
  • Health and safety performance
  • Problem-solving issues
  • Workforce culture

Providing the roofing contractor is a member of one of the supporting eight trade associations for the Roofing Awards, architects are able to submit stand-alone entries for one of 12 disciplines across four main roofing categories – pitched, metal, flat and sustainability. Such organisations include NFRC, Liquid Roofing and Waterproofing Association, Federation of Traditional Metal Roofing Contractors, Lead Contractors Association, the Lead Sheet Association, the Green Roof Centre, CompetentRoofer and the Roofing Tile Alliance.

Free to enter, all entry submissions must be made by 24th January 2014 and the short-listing and judging will take place in February 2014. Entries can only be accepted for projects with a completion date between 1st December 2012 and 31st December 2013. Winners will be announced and trophies presented at the Roofing Awards Congress on Friday 16th May 2014 in London. To obtain a copy of the entry form, please visit