RIBA reveals judges for 2016 president’s awards for research

The RIBA has announced the judges for the President’s Awards for Research 2016.

The judging panel bringing together experts from academia and practice are:

  • Peter Clegg (Chair) – Senior Partner, Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios
  • Shumi Bose – Senior Lecturer, Central St Martins/Director, REAL Foundation
  • Amica Dall – Assemble
  • Hattie Hartman – Sustainability Editor, The Architects’ Journal
  • Professor Robert Mull – former Director of Architecture at the Sir John Cass Faculty of Art, Architecture and Design
  • Dr Aylin Orbasli – Reader in Architectural Regeneration, Oxford Brookes University
  • Professor Christopher Platt – Head and Professor of Architecture, Mackintosh School of Architecture, Glasgow School of Art

The President’s Awards for Research’s new programme provides the opportunity for practice-based researchers and academics at all levels to enter under four new categories which represent active research clusters in the built environment. The awards categories are:

  • Cities and Community
  • Design and Technical
  • History and Theory
  • Learning from Projects*

*A special ‘annual theme’ category, recognising the growing importance of post occupancy and building performance evaluation.

Submissions of unpublished research are requested of between 5,000 and 10,000 words (candidates are welcome to submit excerpts from longer projects or previous work), with a 300 word abstract and 1,000 word statement.

Shortlisted material will be published in a peer-reviewed journal, and on architecture.com.

Deadline: 11:55pm (BST) on 30 June 2016.

Up to three submissions per category will be shortlisted in July; the winners will be announced at the President’s Medals ceremony in December. One award will be made in each category, with the President’s Medal for Research given to the strongest overall submission.

Dr Kat Martindale, RIBA Head of Research and Innovation, said:

“The new-look President’s Awards for Research, and particularly the four new categories, have been specifically designed to provide a platform for practitioners to showcase their research.

This new approach aims to capture the wealth of existing research activity and strengthen collaboration between practice and academia. I am delighted that entrants will have their contributions judged by such an esteemed panel.”