RIBA Honorary Fellowships 2018 announced

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has today (Thursday 28 September) announced the 2018 RIBA Honorary Fellowships, which will be awarded to  individuals from a diverse spectrum of backgrounds, including journalism, local government, art, architectural history and design.

RIBA Honorary Fellowships are awarded annually to people who have made a particular contribution to architecture in its broadest sense. This includes its promotion, administration and outreach; and its role in building more sustainable communities and in the education of future generations.

The 2018 RIBA Honorary Fellowships will be awarded to:

  • Maria Balshaw – Director of Tate Modern
  • Pablo Bronstein  –  Artist
  • Dinah Casson  – Designer
  • Evan Davis  – BBC Presenter
  • Ian Firth  – Structural and Civil Engineer
  • Hattie Hartman – Journalist
  • Catherine Ince – Senior Curator at the Victoria and Albert Museum
  • Wasfi Kani  – Grange Park Opera’s founder and chief executive
  • Dr Tia Kansara – Economist, consultant
  • Sadiq Khan – Mayor of London
  • Ruth Lande Shuman –  Industrial Designer
  • Robert Powell  – Former Creative Director of BEAM, Author and Poet
  • Tom Stuart-Smith – Landscape Design
  • Tamsie Thomson –  Director of the London Festival of Architecture

The lifetime honour allows recipients to use the initials Hon FRIBA after their name.

The 2018 RIBA Honorary Fellowships will be presented at a special event at the RIBA, 66 Portland Place, London, W1B in early 2018.