RIBA announces President’s Awards for Research 2014 shortlists

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has announced the shortlists for the four categories of the President’s Awards for Research 2014. The awards promote and champion high-quality research and encourage its dissemination to the profession; they raise the profile of those architects and academics engaged in research, and highlight the need for research across the profession to foster innovation and strategic thinking.

The shortlists for the President’s Awards for Research 2014 are:

  • RIBA President’s Award for Outstanding Master’s Degree Thesis
  • Juan Montoliu Hernandez of the Architectural Association School of Architecture: CRISIS Architecture: Colonizing existing concrete structures.
  • Carlo Menon of University College London: The missing decade? Architectural magazines of the 1990s.
  • Stephen Gage of the University of Cambridge: Repurposed pasts? Architecture and identity in the Gothic revival university.
  • Xiang Ren of the University of Sheffield: Stereotomics, tectonics and material presence: studies of the vernacular architecture of Hui Prefecture of China.
  • RIBA President’s Award for Outstanding PhD Thesis
  • Bo Tang of London Metropolitan University: Negotiating shared spaces in informal peri-urban settlements in North India: collaborative architectural making as a catalyst for civic empowerment and social change.
  • Emma Cheatle of University College London: Part-architecture: the Maison de Verre through the large glass.
  • Tom Bridgen of the University of Newcastle: The protected vista: an intellectual and cultural history, as seen from Richmond Hill.
  • RIBA President’s Awards for Outstanding University-located Research
  • Barbara Penner of University College London: Bathroom.
  • Flora Samuel of the University of Sheffield et al.: Home improvements.
  • Jian Kang, Hongseok Yang, Yuliya Smyrnowa and Chris Cheal of the University of Sheffield: Greening buildings for noise control.
  • Adam Sharr of the University of Newcastle and Stephen Thornton of the University of Cardiff: Demolishing Whitehall: Leslie Martin, Harold Wilson and the architecture of white heat.
  • Maurice Mitchell of London Metropolitan University and Bo Tang and Shamoon Patwari of Cass Projects: The architecture of three Freetown neighbourhoods: documenting changing city topographies 2008-2013.
  • Ben Campkin of University College London: Remaking London: decline and regeneration in urban culture.
  • RIBA President’s Awards for Outstanding Practice-located Research
  • Mike Tonkin and Anna Liu of Tonkin Liu: Shell Lace Structure.
  • Robert Barker of Baca Architects et al.: The Climate Adaptive Neighbourhoods (CAN) project.
  • Michael Stacey, Laura Gaskell, Jenny Grewcock and Ben Stanforth of Michael Stacey Architects: Prototyping Architecture.

Chair of the Judging Panel, Ruth Morrow, of Queen’s University Belfast, said:

“This year’s shortlist was drawn from the second highest number of entries in the history of the Awards and displays a remarkably diverse range of work. The panel now have some excellent reading to do over the summer and the difficult but pleasurable task of allocating the awards in September.”

The winners will be announced in October and will receive their awards on the 3 December at the RIBA Presidents Medals ceremony at 66 Portland Place, W1.

Ref: 96794