RIBA announces 2016 Yorkshire Award shortlist

Twelve buildings have been shortlisted for a 2016 RIBA Yorkshire Award by the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) including a monastery, two University libraries, an art gallery, a recycling facility and two private houses.

The buildings that have been shortlisted are:

  • AMRC Factory 2050, Sheffield by Bond Bryan Architects
  • Brynmor Jones Library, University of Hull by Sheppard Robson
  • Contemporary Lean-To, Harrogate by Doma Architects
  • The Diamond, Sheffield by Twelve Architects & Masterplanners
  • The  Hiscox Building, York by Make Architects
  • Humberston Park Special School, Grimsby by Hodson Architects
  • Laidlaw Library, University of Leeds by ADP LLP
  • Leeds College of Building, Hunslet Campus – Phase 1 , Leeds by Fuse Studios Ltd
  • Leeds Recycling & Energy Recovery Facility, Leeds by TSP Architects
  • New House, Brigsley by Hodson Architects
  • Stanbrook Abbey, Wass by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios
  • York Art Gallery, York by Ushida Findlay and Simpson & Brown Architects

Chair of the Yorkshire Judging Panel, Caroline Buckingham said:

“The judges were impressed by the variety and excellence of the shortlisted projects and are looking forward to visiting them in person to select the winners.“

The shortlisted buildings will be visited by the judging panel in March, with the winners of an RIBA Yorkshire Award announced at a ceremony on 21st April at Aspire in Leeds.

The jury will select one of the winners to receive the prestigious Building of the Year Award, sponsored by Marley Eternit, which last year was presented to Sheffield Cathedral. Other category awards include Project Architect of the Year, sponsored by Tarmac, The Sustainability Award, sponsored by SIKA, and The Small Project Award which is presented to the best building with a construction cost under £500,000.

Regional winners will also be considered for a highly-coveted RIBA National Award in recognition of their architectural excellence. The shortlist for the RIBA Stirling Prize for the best building of the year will be drawn from the RIBA National Award-winning buildings.

The 2016 RIBA Stirling Prize will be announced later in the year.