Jury announced for second annual Royal Academy Architecture Awards

The Royal Academy of Arts has today announced the jury for the 2019 Royal Academy Architecture Awards.

Chaired by Royal Academician and co-founder of Stanton Williams Alan Stanton, the jury will include artist Phyllida Barlow RA, Director of LSE Cities Ricky Burdett, broadcaster Kirsty Wark and Lesley Lokko, Head of the Graduate School of Architecture at the University of Johannesburg. They will also be joined by last year’s Chair of the Jury Sauerbruch Hutton co-founder Louisa Hutton RA.

The jury will meet in January to decide the winner of the Royal Academy Architecture Prize, which recognises an enduring contribution to the culture of architecture. They will also decide the shortlist for the Royal Academy Dorfman Award for an international talent representing the future of architecture. The outcome of their deliberations will be announced in early February.

The two awards, which were launched last year, are supported by the Dorfman Foundation and form part of the RA’s increased commitment to architecture. Kate Goodwin, Head of Architecture and Drue Heinz Curator at Royal Academy of Arts said:

“We are delighted to have an eminent jury on board as we launch the second year of the Royal Academy’s Architecture Awards, supported by the Dorfman Foundation. Together the awards recognise those, identified by their peers, who are making an exceptional contribution to architectural knowledge and practice. Looking to the future, the awards support talent across the globe, while nurturing a wider appreciation of architecture.”

 Jury biographies

Alan Stanton RA (Chair of the Jury)
Alan Stanton OBE RA began his career working with Norman Foster RA before going on to work with Richard Rogers RA and Renzo Piano Hon RA on the Pompidou Centre in Paris. In 1985, he launched Stanton Williams with Paul Williams and the practice has been responsible for a number of critically acclaimed projects including Central St Martins, the Millennium Seedbank, the Britten Pears Archive and the Sainsbury Laboratory, which won the 2012 RIBA Stirling Prize. Stanton has been Vice President of the Architectural Association Council, has sat on the RIBA Awards Committee and is currently the chair of the RA’s Architecture Committee. He was elected a Royal Designer for Industry in 2005 and in 2009 became a Royal Academician. In 2014, he received an OBE for services to architecture.

Louisa Hutton RA
Louisa Hutton OBE RA co-founded Sauerbruch Hutton with Matthias Sauerbruch in 1989. By the early nineties the practice gained international renown for its early and comprehensive engagement with sustainability in architecture and urbanism. Sauerbruch Hutton were awarded the Erich Schelling Prize in 1998, the Fritz Schumacher Prize for Architecture in 2003, the International Honour Award for Sustainable Architecture in 2010, the Gottfried-Semper-Award in 2013 and the German Architecture Award 2015. Alongside running her practice, Hutton taught at the Architectural Association and was a visiting professor at Harvard Graduate School of Design. She is a member of the Curatorial Board of the Schelling Architecture Foundation, and was a Commissioner at CABE as well as a member of the first Steering Committee for Germany’s Bundesstiftung Baukultur. Hutton was elected a Royal Academician in 2014, and last year she chaired the inaugural jury of the Royal Academy Architecture Awards.

Phyllida Barlow RA
Phyllida Barlow RA was born in 1944 in Newcastle-upon-Tyne, England. She studied at the Chelsea College of Art (1960 – 1963) and the Slade School of Art (1963 – 1966). She later taught at both schools and was until recently Professor of Fine Art and Director of Undergraduate Studies at the Slade School of Art. Barlow was elected a Royal Academician in the category of Sculpture in 2011. Following a long and influential career teaching in the Fine Arts, Barlow has come to prominence over the past few years with many major international exhibitions. She represented Great Britain at the Venice Biennale in 2017.  Other recent solo exhibitions were at the Kunsthalle Zurich, Switzerland in 2016; the Nasher Sculpture Center in Dallas, Texas in 2015 and the Duveen Commission at Tate Britain, London in 2014.

Ricky Burdett
Ricky Burdett CBE is Professor of Urban Studies at the London School of Economics. He is also director of LSE Cities – a global centre of research and teaching which was awarded a Queen’s Anniversary Prize 2016-2018 for its work on training urban leaders and shaping cities of the future. At the LSE, Burdett also founded the Urban Age Project – an interdisciplinary research programme which looks at global cities. He curated the 2006 Venice Architecture Biennale and has also published a number of books including The Endless City (2007), Living in the Endless City (2011), Transforming Urban Economies (2013) and Shaping Cities in an Urban Age (2018). Burdett was architectural advisor to the Mayor of London from 2001 to 20016 and Chief Advisor on Architecture and Urbanism for the London 2012 Olympics. He is a member of the Mayor of London’s Cultural Leadership Board and is also a Trustee of the Norman Foster Foundation. In 2017, Burdett was appointed a CBE for services to urban planning and design.

Kirsty Wark
Kirsty Wark joined the BBC as a graduate researcher for BBC Radio Scotland in 1976. She has gone on to hold many roles at the BBC from a radio producer to presenting BBC Four’s Book Quiz. From 1990 to 1993 she presented the arts programme The Late Show and following this went on to become a presenter of BBC Two’s Newsnight. She has won several awards for her work including Bafta Scotland Journalist of the Year (1993), Best Television Presenter (1997) and Scot of the Year (1998). Wark was on the Scottish Parliament Building Design Selection Panel which chose Enric Miralles to design Scotland’s new parliament building. In 2013 Wark was awarded a BAFTA for Outstanding Contribution to Broadcasting and in 2017 she was elected a fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh.

Lesley Lokko
Lesley Lokko is an architect, academic and author. She is currently Head of the Graduate School of Architecture at the University of Johannesburg and has previously taught at schools in the US, UK and South Africa. Lokko has contributed to discourse around identity, race, African urbanism, and the speculative nature of African architectural space for the past 30 years. She edited White Papers, Black Marks: Race, Culture, Architecture (2000) and has written ten novels.

About the Royal Academy Architecture Awards
The Royal Academy’s two new annual awards encompass the Royal Academy Architecture Prize, honouring an individual or collective recognised for their long-term contribution to the culture of architecture and the Royal Academy Dorfman Award for an international talent representing the future of architecture.

Both of the awards are nominated by Royal Academicians alongside a panel of cultural figures, leading academics, curators, and journalists. The Royal Academy Dorfman Award is decided after each of the finalists has presented their work in front of the jury and a public audience.

The awards celebrate the relationship between art and architecture and form part of the Royal Academy’s ongoing commitment to raising the profile of architects and architecture.

The Royal Academy Architecture Awards are generously supported by the Dorfman Foundation.

For more information on the RA Architecture Programme visit: www.royalacademy.org.uk/architecture