Fourteen buildings shortlisted for RIBA South East Awards 2018

Fourteen buildings have been shortlisted for RIBA (Royal Institute of British Architects) South East Awards 2018. There were 43 buildings entered in the region, which covers Kent, Surrey and Sussex.

The buildings that have been shortlisted for RIBA South East Awards are:

Palamon Court, Canterbury by Guy Hollaway Architects
Sibson Building, University of Kent, Canterbury by Penoyre & Prasad
Knole House Conservation Studio and Café, Sevenoaks by Rodney Melville + Partners
Black H

ouse, Kent by AR Design Studio
Highland House, Kent by Ben Adams Architects
The Apple Store, Kent by pH+
The Cottage, Kent by Guy Hollaway Architects
The Wood House, Kent by Allies and Morrison

City of London Freemen’s School Swimming Pool, Ashtead by Hawkins\Brown
Oatlands Close, Surrey by SOUP Architects

East Sussex:
The Kai Yong Yeoh Building, Brighton College, Brighton & Hove by Hopkins Architects
Depot Cinema, Lewes by Burrell Foley Fischer LLP
Studio in a Ruin, East Sussex by Carmody Groarke

West Sussex:
The Gateway Project, Weald & Downland Living Museum by ABIR Architects.

James Robinson, RIBA Regional Director said of the shortlist:

“We have a very strong shortlist of buildings for the RIBA Regional Awards in the South and South East this year. The standard and variety of the entries is high; from private houses to the larger public and institutional buildings.”

“The shortlist also demonstrates the fantastic amount of design talent in the region, in practices both large and small, local and working nationally or indeed, internationally.”

“The region has an amazing architectural heritage with buildings that have the capacity to amaze, inspire and improve our quality of life. This year’s RIBA Regional Awards shortlist in the South and South East show that they are still being built.”

All shortlisted buildings will be assessed by a regional jury with the winning buildings announced at an Awards evening and reception at Mercedes-Benz World on Thursday 17 May.

Regional Award winners will be considered for a highly-coveted RIBA National Award in recognition of their architectural excellence, the results of which will be announced in June. The shortlist for the RIBA Stirling Prize for the best building of the year will be drawn from the RIBA National Award-winning buildings later in the year.