CTBUH Wins 2015 Henry C. Turner Prize for Innovation in the Construction Industry

The Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat (CTBUH) is pleased to announce that it has been selected as the winner of the illustrious 2015 Henry C. Turner Prize for Innovation in Construction.

The prize will be officially awarded on October 26, 2015, at the CTBUH Conference in New York City by Peter Davoren, President and Chief Executive Officer of Turner Construction Company and Chase W. Rynd, President and Executive Director of the National Building Museum.

Turner Construction Company established an endowment in 2001 to support the prize at the National Building Museum in order to recognize an advance or high achievement in the process of construction: an invention, an innovative methodology, and/or exemplary leadership. Members of the Prize jury are David Childs, Chairman Emeritus, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill; Chris McFadden, Vice President, Turner Construction Company; Hal Parmalee, former President, Turner Construction Company; and Jan Tuchman, Editor-in-Chief, Engineering News Record.

The prize is being awarded to the Council in recognition for the publication of technical papers, professional guidelines, and other materials meticulously developed by engineers, academics, and thought leaders on nearly every aspect of tall building construction, available free of charge on their website. Through these publications and active working groups around the world, the Council has established itself as the industry’s leading resource when it comes to planning, designing, constructing, and maintaining increasingly sophisticated tall, supertall, and megatall building projects.

The Council intends to use the generous $25,000 honorarium that accompanies the prize to drive research resulting in an important new publication. CTBUH Chairman David Malott stated:

“We are honored to receive this recognition and will utilize the honorarium to conduct an audit of the cutting edge technologies across all fields that contribute to tall buildings. We will create a positional paper that would be of value to all our membership, especially tall building developers who always want to know what the latest technologies are in each field.”

CTBUH is proud to be the 13th recipient of the Turner Prize, and to be among esteemed company such as the Engineering Department at Pennsylvania State University, Leslie Robertson, I.M Pei, Charles DeBenedittis, The U.S. Green Building Council, Paul Teicholz, Gehry Partners and Gehry Technologies, Charlie Thornton, Engineers Without Borders – USA, Caterpillar, Inc., Society of Women Engineers, and the Lean Construction Institute.