AT Awards 2019: Finalists announced

The Chartered Institute of Architectural Technologists (CIAT) is delighted to announce the Finalists for its 2019 Architectural Technology Awards, recognised as the premier accolades that demonstrate outstanding achievement in the discipline and celebrate the technology of architecture.

Winners will be announced and presented on 13 September 2019 at the AT Awards event held at Village Underground, Shoreditch, London. The event will recognise and celebrate the exceptional contribution that Architectural Technology practices and professionals make to the built environment, as well as the outstanding work and skills of those studying Architectural Technology.

Finalist entries for The Award for Excellence in Architectural Technology are:

  • FaulknerBrowns Architects for Beacon of Light
  • healycornelius design consultancy ltd for Hawley Mews
  • LSI Architects for Earlham Hall Courtyard
  • PTAL for Woodmansterne Secondary School & Sixth Form
  • Powell Dobson Architects for Augusta Bay, Llanelli
  • Studio Kyson for The Fire Station

Finalist entries for The Alan King Award for Excellence in Architectural Technology, for projects with a value no greater than £750k, are:

  • Des Cairns Architecture for The Church of the Holy and Undivided Trinity, Magheralin
  • Chris Senior MCIAT, PiP for Waterside, Ely
  • Plaice Design Company Ltd for Renovation and Alterations to 10 Quay Street, Woodbridge
  • Stuart Davidson Architecture for New Dwelling House at Grange View
  • Stuart Davidson Architecture for New Holiday Let Unit at Rink Hill
  • Studio Kyson for Treehouse

Mark Kennett, PPCIAT MCIAT CEnv CIAT Accredited-Conservationist, Chair of the Judging Panel said:

“The Finalists for both Awards are all of an exceptional standard and share one common denominator – a demonstration of Architectural Technology as a key design function and how necessary it is to achieve buildability, usability and create inclusive environments. My congratulations go to all our Finalists and I look forward to announcing the winners on September 13.”

Finalist entries for The Student Award for Excellence in Architectural Technology (Project) are:

  • Aaron Edge-Stenson, Nottingham Trent University for Thorpe Lakes: Museum & Visitor Centre
  • Albert Greenhalgh, Sheffield Hallam University for Architectural Technology Studio 3
  • Isabelle Piorkowska, Coventry University for Wales National Aquarium: Cardiff
  • Jack Nolan, Coventry University for Heathrow Timber Terminal
  • Kirsten Adjei-Attah, Coventry University for Maggie’s Windermere
  • Liam Charnock, Sheffield Hallam University for The Climbing Centre at the Sheffield Ski Village
Finalist entries for The Student Award for Excellence in Architectural Technology (Report) are:

  • Cameron Wood, Robert Gordon University for Virtual Reality in the Architectural Technology Curriculum
  • Catriona Slane, Ulster University for Wayfinding Design: An Investigation into Wayfinding Design Techniques Employed in Healthcare Facilities in Northern Ireland and the Need for Wayfinding Standards
  • Isabelle Piorkowska, Coventry University for An Investigation into the Compressive Strength of Concrete as a Result of Being Mixed and Cured with Salt Water vs. Fresh Water as Well as the Effects of Using Recycled Aggregate in the Mix
  • Jack Nolan, Coventry University for The Performance of Glulam Beams with Service Holes and Different Types of Reinforcements
  • Kirsten Adjei-Attah, Coventry University for Testing the Compressive Strength of Timber Lattice Columns for Low Rise Construction
  • Michael Daly, Ulster University for Verifying the Position of Passive Fire Protection in Ventilated Rainscreen Building Wall Envelopes
Professor Sam Allwinkle PPBIAT MCIAT, Chair of the Judging Panel said:
“Our Architectural Technology students once again deliver innovative and thought-provoking designs and reports that take the discipline to the next level. These are the Architectural Technologists of the future and all our Finalists have demonstrated work which is highly creative and thought-provoking. My congratulations go out to them all.”
Finalist entries for The Chartered Architectural Technologist of the Year Award are:

  • Karyn Williams MCIAT of Stride Treglown
  • Oliver Henshall MCIAT of Powell Dobson Architects
  • Simon Lewis-Pierpoint MCIAT of Studio SDA | Architects

Paul Burton PPBIAT PPCIAT MCIAT, Chair of the Judging Panel said:

“It is a great pleasure to Chair this judging panel as it gives me the opportunity to marvel at the wealth and breadth of the individuality of our Chartered Architectural Technologists. How they are making a difference not only within the discipline and profession but for communities and our ever-changing landscape is incredible. I cannot wait to present the winner in September.”
Visit for further information on the AT Awards and for all Finalists, along with details on how to book for the AT Awards event and to sponsor. Press passes are available by contacting april(Replace this parenthesis with the @ sign) The Awards can be followed on the day using the hashtag #ATAwards.