79 projects selected to receive a Civic Trust Award, Commendation or Community Recognition

The list of winning projects for the 2014 Civic Trust Awards has been revealed and features 79 projects from a wide range of national and international entries. All schemes featured will receive an Award, Commendation or Community Recognition with 7 Special Awards presented to schemes for excellence in specific areas.

The 55th Annual Civic Trust Awards Ceremony will take place on Friday 7th March at The Winter Gardens Blackpool, supported by Blackpool Council and The Winter Gardens Trust. The event will be hosted by architect, writer and TV presenter George Clarke and Civic Trust Awards Managing Director Malcolm Hankey.

Amongst the 2014 winners are:

  • Halley VI Antarctic Research Station, Antarctica by Hugh Broughton Architects
  • Metropol Parasol, Seville (Spain) by J. MAYER H. Architects
  • Creative Arts Hub, Norwich (Eastern) BDP
  • Bishop Edward King Chapel, Oxford (South East) by Niall McLaughlin Architects
  • Scale Lane Bridge, Kingston-upon-Hull (Yorkshire & Humberside) by McDowell+Benedetti
  • The Shed, City of London (Greater London) by Haworth Tompkins
  • Medieval Museum, Waterford (ROI) by ROJO studio & Waterford City Council Architects

Seven Special Awards will also be given to Award winning projects that have demonstrated outstanding credentials in specific areas. The Special Awards are:

  • National Panel Special Award
  • Special Award for Sustainability
  • Special Award for Community Impact and Engagement
  • The Michael Middleton Special Award – a memorial to former Director of the Civic Trust, Michael Middleton OBE, presented to a conservation project or new build within a conservation area.
  • Special Award for Scotland supported by Glasgow City Council & The City of Edinburgh Council
  • Pro Tem Special Award – presented to a temporary building, structure or space sponsored by Metropolitan Workshop
  • Special Award for Brick sponsored by Derwent London

For a complete list of the 79 winning projects for 2014, please CLICK HERE

Keep up to date with all the Civic Trust Awards news follow us on twitter @CTAwards

Selwyn Goldsmith Award for Universal Design
The Selwyn Goldsmith Award for Universal Design is given in recognition of architect and founding figure of universal and accessible design, Selwyn Goldsmith. The shortlist and winning recipient of this Award was selected by a specially convened panel of universal design experts including Selwyn’s wife Becky, who will present the Award to the winning scheme at the Ceremony on 7th March.

The five projects on the shortlist for the Selwyn Goldsmith Award for Universal Design are:

  • Giant’s Causeway Visitor Centre, Moyle (Northern Ireland) by Heneghan Peng Architects
  • Ironmonger Row Baths, Islington (Greater London) by Tim Ronalds Architects
  • Mary Rose Museum, Portsmouth (South East) by Wilkinson Eyre Architects
  • Splashpoint Leisure Centre, Worthing (South East) by Wilkinson Eyre Architects
  • Timber Lodge and Tumbling Bay Playground, Newham (Greater London) by London Legacy Development Corporation

Keep up to date with the Selwyn Goldsmith Awards news by following us on twitter @UnivDesignAward

Ref: 28775