61 London buildings awarded for architectural excellence

4 housing schemes, 8 schools, a city farm (Waterloo Community Farm) and refurbished public house (The Sekforde) are among the 61 buildings to receive RIBA London Awards 2018 from the Royal Institute of British Architects.

RIBA London Award-winning buildings set the standard for skilful, accomplished architecture in the capital. The winning buildings will now be in the running for highly coveted RIBA National Awards which will be announced on 21 June 2018.

RIBA London Director, Dian Small, said:

“London has perhaps the highest concentration of design talent found anywhere in the world. It is that concentration of diverse talent, skills, and exchange of ideas that makes London such an exciting and challenging place to work in the field of architecture. It’s testament to the drive and passion of our members that again, we have seen the largest ever number of schemes shortlisted for the RIBA London Awards. Our members are building more – and better – buildings than ever before; constantly enhancing the landscape and skyline of our region.”

The winning projects are:

Project Name Practice Additional Practice  


15 Clerkenwell Close Amin Taha + Groupwork 15CC
25 Savile Row Piercy&Company Derwent London
53 Great Suffolk Street Hawkins\Brown Morgan Capital Partners
70 Wilson Astudio Ltd Stanhope
Abell and Cleland DSDHA EPR Architects (Delivery Architect) Berkeley Homes
Alex Monroe Workshop DSDHA Alex Monroe
Belvue School Woodland Classrooms Studio Weave Belvue School
Bethnal Green Memorial Arboreal Architecture Stairway to Heaven Memorial Trust
Black Stone Buildings 6a architects Private Client
Bloomberg, London Foster + Partners Bloomberg
Brentford Lock West Block E Mae White Ink Architects & Claude Maguire Waterside Places
Bridge Theatre Haworth Tompkins London Theatre Company
Caroline Place Amin Taha + Groupwork Private Client
Central Parade Gort Scott   London Borough of Waltham Forest
Chadwick Hall Henley Halebrown University of Roehampton
Charles Dickens School Maccreanor Lavington Southwark Council
Dartmouth Park House AY Architects Private Client
De Beauvoir Block Henley Halebrown The Benyon Estate
Faraday House dRMM Simpson Haugh Battersea Power Station Development Company
Fitzrovia House Carmody Groarke Private Client
Gasholder Park Bell Phillips Architects King’s Cross Central Limited Partnership
Gasholders London Wilkinson Eyre with Jonathan Tuckey Design King’s Cross Central Limited Partnership
Gin Distillery Open Practice Architecture Private Client
Grange Primary School Maccreanor Lavington Southwark Council
Hackney Town Hall Hawkins\Brown London Borough of Hackney
Hazelhurst Court Levitt Bernstein Phoenix Community Housing
Ivydale Primary School Hawkins\Brown London Borough of Southwark
Kings Crescent Estate Phases 1 and 2 Karakusevic Carson Architects and Henley Halebrown The London Borough of Hackney
Kingsgate Primary Lower School Maccreanor Lavington Architects London Borough of Camden
Knox Bhavan Studio Knox Bhavan Architects Simon Knox & Sasha Bhavan
Marlborough Primary School Dixon Jones The Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea
No1 New Oxford Street Orms TH Real Estate
R7, Kings Cross Duggan Morris Architects Weedon Architects Argent LLP
Red House 31/44 Architects Arrant Land
Riverlight Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners EPR Architects St James Group Limited

Royal Academy of Music – The Susie Sainsbury Theatre and The Angela Burgess Recital Hall

Ian Ritchie Architects Limited



The Royal Academy of Music



Royal Albert Wharf Phase 1 Maccreanor Lavington Detailed design by RMA Architects Notting Hill Housing Group
Salters Hall De Metz Forbes Knight Architects The Worshipful Company of Salters
Sandringham Central at Sandringham Primary School Walters & Cohen Architects Newham Council
Shaftesbury Theatre Bennetts Associates The Theatre of Comedy Company
South Gardens Maccreanor Lavington Lendlease
St Augustines Church Roz Barr Architects The Order of St Augustine
St James Market Make Architects The Crown Estate / Oxford Properties
Streatham and Clapham High School – Phase One and Two Cottrell and Vermeulen Architecture The Girls’ Day School Trust
Sutherland Road Levitt Bernstein East Thames Housing Group
The Bourne Estate Matthew Lloyd Architects London Borough of Camden
The Department Store Squire and Partners Squire and Partners
The Leadenhall Building Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners British Land
The Makers House Liddicoat & Goldhill Liddicoat & Goldhill
The Sekforde Chris Dyson Architects Private Client
Turner’s House Butler Hegarty Architects Turner’s House Trust
University of Roehampton Library Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios University of Roehampton
Upper Richmond Road Allford Hall Monaghan Morris London Square
VEX Chance de Silva & Scanner Stephen Chance and Wendy de Silva
Victoria and Albert Museum Exhibition Road Quarter AL_A Victoria and Albert Museum
Victoria and Albert Museum Members’ Room Carmody Groarke Victoria and Albert Museum
Victoria Hall King’s Cross Stanton Williams Aga Khan Development Network
Walthamstow Wetlands Witherford Watson Mann Architects Waltham Forest Council
Waterloo Community Farm Feilden Fowles Architects Jamie’s Farm and Oasis Waterloo
Weston Street Allford Hall Monaghan Morris Solidspace
White Collar Factory Allford Hall Monaghan Morris Derwent London

Further Special Awards have been awarded to:

  • The Sekforde by Chris Dyson Architects – RIBA London Sustainability Award, sponsored by Geberit;
  • Turner’s House by Butler Hegarty Architects – RIBA London Conservation Award;
  • Red House by 31/44 Architects – RIBA London Small Project Award;
  • Belvue School by NAME, for Belvue School Woodland Classrooms by Studio Weave – RIBA London Client of the Year Award sponsored by Tobermore;
  • Harry Paticas by Arboreal Architects – RIBA London Project Architect of the Year Award, sponsored by Taylor Maxwell for Bethnal Green Memorial;
  • Royal Academy of Music, Susie Sainsbury Theatre and Angela Burgess Recital Hall by Ian Ritchie Architects AND Victoria & Albert Museum Exhibition Road Quarter by AL_A – RIBA London Building of the Year Award, sponsored by Artifice Press.